Creating a new team
Creating a team is free, and is the best way to collaborate with other users. By creating a team, you will be able to share projects and directories instead of single files. You will also be able to add team members as view only or with edit access. You can be part of multiple teams.
To create a new team, click on the 'Add new team' button in the main page of Botsociety like so:
You will then be asked to name your team and invite other team members.
Now that you have a team, you can create projects inside your team. You can define different access level for your files in your project (check out the dedicated chapter).
The user that created the team is the team owner. The team owner can't be kicked out of the team, and is able to access the Team Admin Dashboard. Ownership can be transferred if needed.
Team members view
The team members view can be accessed by clicking on the team name on left hand side:
And then by clicking on 'Members' on top:
In the team members, you can:
- Change the role of a team member: Can view or Can edit
- Remove team members
- Add new team members
Every team member can access this view. Only the team members with 'can edit' access can invite new team members. To do so, click on 'Invite team member':
The team Settings view can be accessed by clicking on the team name on the right hand side:
And then by clicking on 'Settings' on top:
If you are the team owner, in the Settings view you can see a link to the Admin Dashboard. The settings also contain a link to the preset sharing feature (coming soon).
Team Admin dashboard & Seats
The admin dashboard is a central view of your team that is only available for the team owner. Is also where you can see your billing details and past invoices. To navigate to the admin dashboard, first navigate to your team by clicking on your team name on the left-hand side:
Then navigate to the Settings:
Then click on Open Admin Dashboard:
The admin dashboard is where the team owner can assign seats, change permission settings, upgrade the team and add more members, remove members, etc.
A seat represents a paid license that can be used by one user. You can assign and remove seats from the admin dashboard. Every Editor (with can edit role) in a paid team will need a license.
If you have unassigned licenses, and you add a new editor to your team, Botsociety will automatically assign the ununsed license to your new team member.
If your team is on the free plan, you can't assign any seat. Seats are available only to Professional and Enterprise customers. What that means is that every member of your team will be on the Free plan until you upgrade your team.
Upgrading to Professional
The Botsociety free account is free forever with some limitations. You can upgrade a team to Professional at any time. All of the team members will benefit from the upgrade, also when they are working in their own personal capacity in the Drafts. If you are part of multiple teams, the Professional features will unlock only when you are working on the upgraded team or in the Drafts.
A team is needed to upgrade. If you don't have a team, check out the Create a Team chapter.
If you are on your own, you still need to create a team to upgrade. Teams can also be composed by you only, so just skip the invite step and you will be good to go.
Once your team is created, the first step of the upgrade will ask you to confirm the number of licenses that you want to purchase:
Every team member with Can Edit access will need a license. Botsociety will by default propose you the number of licenses needed by your team. By clicking on Details you can see how many users will need a license.
In the second step, you can add your billing and payment details:
Using a coupon code
If you have a coupon code, follow the instructions above and then in this second step click on 'Have a coupon?'
Then put your coupon code and and click on Redeem:
You are done! If you signed up on a partner landing page, you may find your Coupon code already filled in.
Teams and Upgrades F.A.Q
Can I be in multiple teams at the same time?
Who needs a seat?
Any user who wants to upgrade from the free plan to the professional plan or the enterprise plan needs a seat. A seat, previously called a license, allows the user to take full advantage of Botsociety features and create unlimited designs with unlimited messages.
What happens when I upgrade?
When you upgrade, you and any team members on your team who do not hold a seat are assigned one. This means that all the users’ professional plan is ready to use.
The process for enterprise users is similar, but is done through our Account Management team.
Note that the users who have seats have the capabilities of that plan in the repsectiveteam space and their Drafts. They cannot use the professional seat assigned in one team to work on another team’s designs. On the second team, this user will be considered a free user unless they are upgraded.
Who can upgrade and add/remove seats?
In a free team, anyone can upgrade the team and add or remove seats. This is because that team has an owner, but does not have a professional membership yet. Any of the team members is able to take ownership by upgrading the team or their account in the team, and adding their billing details. By doing this, they will become the new team owners.
In professional teams, the team owner is the one who can add and remove seats. Note that team members can add individuals to the team with Edit access, but unless the team has available seats, the owner will have to approve a new seat being added to the team. The team owner will be notified that a new member was added to the team with an email by our team.
When are seats added?
Seats are added as soon as you add one to your plan, despite the fact that you do not get charged for the new seat until the beginning of the next billing cycle. After you purchase or add a seat, make sure that that seat is assigned to the team member you wanted to upgrade. If the upgrade is happening directly related to a team member being blocked or being the only one without a seat, the seat should be assigned automatically.
What happens if I downgrade?
If you downgrade, so the seats/seats won’t be available anymore, you will revert back to the free plan. That means that the limitations of the free plan will kick in again, and you won’t be able to edit your designs that have over 30 messages.
You will be charged monthly or yearly according to the plan you choose. Our payment processor assigns the currency United States Dollars or Euros based on your location. It is not possible to change the currency in which you are charged.
You can insert billing details in the checkout page after clicking on Upgrade. If you need to change your billing details, you can check the Settings tab of your team. Your billing details are secure and your team members will not be able to see them.