The Clipboard, Comments and Version History are available across the design and build mode. You can activate them in the left-hand-side menu.
Clipboard: Creating conversational components
The Clipboard feature allows you to create conversational components and re-use them in different design files, or even inside the same design file. To open the clipboard panel, click on the Clipboard icon on the left-hand-side. Once opened, you will see that there are two tabs in the clipboard: Personal and Team
The Personal components will be available only to you. The Team components will be shared with your team. If you are not sure how to set up a team, check out this part of the documentation.
At first, the clipboard will be empty. Let's see how to add new components to the clipboard.
Adding paths to the clipboard
Once you designed a path, you can add it to the clipboard. To do so, click on the three dots menu next to a path header: And then choose either Add To Personal Clipboard or Add to Team Clipboard Once you add a path to the clipboard, it will be shown in the clipboard panel on the left-hand-side.
Using paths from the clipboard
Once the clipboard side panel is open, you can add, edit, and delete the paths in the clipboard by clicking on the icons next to path name: The plus icon will add the path to the design you are currently in. Once a path is added from the clipboard to your design, you can edit it without affecting the clipboard. The pencil icon will bring you to the design file that contains the path added to the clipboard. If the path is in the design file you are currently in, Botsociety will focus your canvas on the path. The trash icon will remove the path from the clipboard. Paths that were added previously will not be affected.
Clipboard & Components F.A.Q.
How can I update a path in the clipboard? It does not allow me to add the same path twice
You can edit a path in the clipboard by clicking on the pencil icon next to the pathname in the clipboard. Any change to that path will be saved in the path clipboard as well.
I added a path to the clipboard. What happens if I edit it now?
If you edit a path that was added in the clipboard, the changes will not affect designs that already have a path that was added from that clipboard path. At the same time, editing that path will update the clipboard for you and your team: From that moment on, if you add a path from a clipboard, the resulting path will contain the latest edits.
Why can't I add components from a different preset?
Different presets - for example, Facebook Messenger and the Google Assistant - have different message formats and types, thus you will need a conversion map between formats. Conversion maps are currently in development. If you need to use components across presets, reach out to our team.
Wouldn’t it be great if Botsociety could save a snapshot of all your actions and you could easily navigate back and forth between different versions of your design?
Well, actually, you can. It’s called Revision History.
To access this feature, click on the Revision History button and a side-panel will appear:
Botsociety automatically saves a snapshot of your design every 10 edits. All saved snapshots are listed in this convenient side-panel.
If you want to revert to a specific snapshot, click on the Revert button next to the snapshot entry. A confirmation window will appear:
Confirm, and your design will be reverted to the previous snapshot, or make a copy of that snapshot, and that will be opened in a new tab.
If you have been building a preset and revert those changed, consider that the presets can be used by multiple designs, therefore:
- If the preset is used by multiple designs, when you restore, the preset is cloned. The old preset continues to exist in the other designs it’s used in.
- If the preset is used only by that design, then we restore the previous version of the preset.
You can use comments on Botsociety to leave notes for your team or yourself inside designs. Users can leave comments from inside the design or on a shared link.
If an individual wants to add a comment on a shared link design, they need to sign in or make an account on Botsociety.
To add comments from inside a design, click on the comment icon on the left bar. That activates comment mode, so now you are able to leave a comment on any message when you hover over the message.
Anyone with a Botsociety account can leave a comment, it doesn’t matter which plan they are on.
Anyone that has edit access to the design can resolve comments in the design. Comments can only be resolved inside the design.